Will the Megane 2.0L turbo fit the 197?

Sorry if this has been discussed before but i cant find anything on the search menu, ;/

Will the above engine fit the 197? ive read that theoretically it should mount in the same places?

But the real question is will it fit in the bay with a turbo hanging of it?

Im new to Renault so im guess it would probably need stand alone engine management?

Thanks alot,

Pete

given the room under the bonnet (or lack of it) I dont think it would all fit under there. Plus I'm not sure if the gearbox mounting holes are the same and the meggy box wont fit in the 197

i would say that it could - there seems to be space at the rear of the engine for turbo and manifold

think the issue would be gearbox - which would fit or to use - given the turbo engine torque output

and intercooler space at the front - think it would need a bespoke one to fit in the front/bumper space

It will fit in the bay but not with the standard 197 mounts but it's not just a case of fitting the engine as it won't work on the standard wiring loom

Fred said it can be done relatively easily... just the wiring that needs some work

Jason on here has all of the bits and a 197 shell, not sure how far he's progressed it.

Would probably need the diff fitting too? I guess you'd struggle to get a Forge FMIC on though, so would have to stick to Stage 1 Remaps...

Jason didn't get very far with the engine transplant I didn't thnk but there is someone else that is nearly there.
Engine in just having to make his own loom from scratch.

Any of these people got build threads going on? linkys!

To be fair it wouldn't need to be mapped any harder but the additional torque would make the clio a weapon,

As for lag the boost its fairly low and from what i understand its not a hugely laggy engine, and lag isn't so much an issue when comparing to the 197 engine than has a power band the size of a peanut! all be it a very exciting peanut!