Blue colouring on tyres

GrumpyTwig

"the troll hunter" with added boost!
I'm still relatively new to trackdays but having taken my tyres off to inspect them and change to my road wheel I noticed the front have a strip of blue colour around the edge.

Now from what I've read this generally means they've either overheated or been through a few too many intense heat cycles.

I'm thinking maybe I had the pressures too low at the front?

IMAG0026.jpg

Also ona side note the front discs are a little patched but feel fine in the car, these look ok?

IMAG0024.jpg

i dont do track days but reading up on goggle it does say under inflated tyres are the cause bound to be someone who says diff

around 26-28psi cold, I only set them very roughly.

Also google has failed me a bit as most of the chat is about bikes and well... most of what you hear in the bike world is subjective/opinionated rather than factual :tongueout:
I just wondered if it pointed to anything other than just heat.

I'd say you had the pressures too high - Same happens on bike on track if running too close to road pressures.

Mostly opinion though...

I would say they need to be set at what Renault says, 33psi.

Doesn't apply, you'll notice they aren't standard tyres and road pressures aren't correct for track use.

I'll just have to set them up properly next time and see how they go.

Looks to me as if the tyres where getting hot. I wouldnt worry about it tbf.
Fitted/took off a lot worse than that for people lol

The discs look like that as they've got pad deposits on them, generally caused by coming to a complete stop with very hot pads. I've had this problem with my carbone lorraine pads, I find doing the bedding in proceedure can help remove the deposits. Do about 6-8 hard stops from 60mph to 10mph to get the brakes nice and hot but don't come to a complete stop or you'll just get more deposits. If you've bedded in correctly the discs should have a grey film over them.