To Upgrade or Simply Replace

Tom

Platinum Member
First off: You'll have to excuse my ignorance, I don't know too much regarding brakes and I am still learning...

So, following my MOT last month I was warned that my rear disks were corroding and my front ones weren't far behind. He said it was probably best I got new disks and pads before my next MOT.

As per usual, Renault was not cheap.

So, is it worth upgrading while the change is on the books?

Is there a huge price difference - if any?

I have a rear wheel bearing going - I was told the Renault Brake Disks have them fitted. Do uprated brakes have them too?

If a change is recommended, what disks and pads do people recommend and where should I buy them?

Thanks in advance,

Tom.

if your only using on the road then stick to standard and also cheaper - have you tried the traders on here for prices.....some good offers around at the moment

replacement discs come with bearings and abs rings

When my insurance goes down in a year or two, this car will be a dedicated track car; For now, I won't do too many.

I got a good price off Karl for standard brakes. I just wondered if the upgrades were much more as I know Renault have a tendency for being overpriced.

How much more are the uprated brakes you're thinking of / what are they?

Cheers man.

Brakes are one area where manufacturer branded parts tend to be expensive; the discs will be made by a tier one brake component manufacturer, typically Brembo for the fronts, not sure on the rears, but probably Brembo, Ferodo, etc. With the pads being something similar. So long as you get parts from a recognised tier 1 manufacturer, such as Brembo, Ferodo, Bosch, Mintex, etc. you should be fine, and will be able to make a considerable saving even compared to a discounted manufacturer price.

It is important to double check the dimensions;

Fronts 312mm, 5 stud
Rears 300mm x 11mm, 5 stud - I am only 99% certain on this.