Major brake/dealership issue.....advice please!

Ryster

Paid Member
Sooooooooo

Third week of owning the Clio and issue number two has begun. Upon originally test driving the car I noticed spongy brakes. I made the salesman aware of this to which his reply was 'will be sorted when you pick it up'. Had no reason not to believe him, upon picking up the car the only other issue of a few scuffs on the bumper was sorted with a respray of the back bumper. Over the moon I was. Was told, and I quote; 'one of our mechanics has been out in it this morning and said the brakes are FINE, just how they are'.

Not being a mechanic I trusted this, got in the car and spongy brakes were still there. I got home and again, still there. Spoke to the dealership who said its because they have been stood for a while, they will feel better soon.

I then noticed the door had fallen a little after getting home, a quick trip back and the door was fixed. Again, very happy with the service.

However the brake issue was still obvious after 12 days, after owning a Focus and Fiesta ST and my vans brakes working better I contacted Renault UK who have bent over backwards to help. The car was booked in at Renault Blackpool and within 20 minutes of them having it they phoned me to tell me its on the ramps there is a massive fault.

Between Monday and today Renault UK and Renault Blackpool have been talking to each other and I was given an update in which I was told the following:

Both front pads had seized into the calipers as had the rear drivers. The rear passenger had seized and heated so much that when they removed it the thing fell apart in the guys hands. Photos were taken and sent onto Renault UK who are now dealing with said dealership to find out why they released the car. I've been told by Renault UK not to worry about paying for anything as its an obvious issue that isnt after 12 days.of ownership anyway my fault.