Diy steering wheel refurb

Discussion in 'Interior and Audio' started by jimmybeattie, Jan 9, 2020.

1. jimmybeattie

jimmybeattie Paid Member

Car:
    Clio 197
    Hi guys,

Just wanted to share my experience and review of a steering wheel retrim I done.

My steering wheel was like most 197's, peeling, worn leather and just looking awful. I looked into getting a pro retrim which would be about £150 and then while I was searching online I came across a post on a bmw forum about a company that supply custom fit covers that you sow on yourself. They were raving about them on that forum so I decided to give them a look.

The site was steeringcover. Com and after I had sent a couple of questions I placed my order. Communication was excellent from them and the package arrived quite quickly.

Now I have never done anything like this before and am certainly not a sower but after just a couple of hours I had a steering wheel that looked almost better than new. I am seriously impressed with the quality/price/ease of it all. Its never going to be as good as a pro retrim but for less than £20 is dam good

Just thought I'd share incase it helps someone else out.

IMG_20200108_124430.jpg IMG_20200105_125139.jpg IMG_20200105_125146.jpg IMG_20200104_134148.jpg IMG_20200102_142407.jpg IMG_20200102_142410.jpg

Andyyox, Clio_RS, wootwoot and 5 others like this.

2. lewishunter98

lewishunter98 Paid Member

Car:
    Racing Blue Clio 197
    Looks awesome mate fair play!

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using Tapatalk

jimmybeattie likes this.
  3. suj

suj Paid Member

Car:
    Nimbus Grey 197
    I've heard about these, but ones I seen didn't cover properly, yours looks really good and covers well.

I am very tempted.

A few questions
    * Did you use all the tape it says it comes with?
    * Was it extra for the stripe at the top?
    * Did you take the wheel off to do it, as some vids do it in situ?
    * Does the lower insert fit, do you know?

Thanks

Phenom likes this.
  4. Mossy