Clio Campus 2007 plate - bonnet flew open

Hi newbie here. Have had my wee Clio since May 2010 and had a shocking experience a few weeks ago when the bonnet flew open whilst I was driving. I am a single parent and heard that this had been a problem highlighted by Watchdog and media. Was advised by trading standards to contact Renault ...at first very helpful sympathetic and offered to repair...now totally backtracked advised to contact insurers who say not covered. Where next? I have owned and driven renaults since the eighties - looks like Watchdog my next port of call

I know this was a problem on the Clio 2, there was a recall outstanding on the bonnet catches for a long time, but certainly not a known problem with the Clio 3. Who told you the problem was highlighted with Watchdog? What would you like Watchdog to do about it for you?

From my experience with Renault UK, they wouldn't offer a repair straight of the bat unless your car was in and looked at by a dealer first. Then the dealer relays the findings to Renault UK and a conclusion is drawn up at that point.

Yes its it's probably shaken you up etc, but the car is long out of warranty and Renault aren't obliged to offer help replace the mechanism (or other failed part) as who is to say it hasn't been tampered with at some point?

Mine is old style Clio ... Daughters bf told me about watchdog after incident ... First person at Renault customer services new in job told me they would sort. All complicated a recall letter was signed for by my ex 2013 never told me but Renault told me it was. The bonnet release was replaced last year using Renault part still under warranty - whilst I was in hospital - they can't find record. It more than shook me up luckily I was driving slowly on a country road and not motorway. Feel I am being passed from pillar to post