Air Filters, do they actually make a difference?

Afternoon Guys,

Trying to get to the bottom of whether or not i'm suffering from the placebo effect lol.

Basically me and my mate did a big service on my cars, loads of thing swapped and sorted, sparks, oil, oil filter, pads, and it's been running great, brakes feel like they could stop a train now and much more murmurs/crackles coming out my exhaust :thumb:

Only thing that's been bugging me is that we swapped and super old KTEC air filter for a MANN+Hummel one.

My mechanic mate told me it really doesn't matter but now i can't help but feel like there's not as much noise from the engine/doesn't pull as hard.

Tbh it's probably just me but wonder if someone with a bit more mechanic knowledge could enlighten me!

Any ideas?

I'm no mechanic but I've just removed my KTEC filter and put the old air box on with a K&N panel filter and it's much more responsive. It's a known fact/myth (??) that you lose power from a cone filter unless you have the car mapped with it on.

I had a K&N panel filter, changed it to a standard in my last service and there was no noticeable difference.

That's not to say there is no benifiy, I'm sure it's just neglegable as a stand alone mod

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

If you have an open cone filter then you tend to lose a few bhp as the engine will be sucking in hot air.

With a closed filter (eg performance panel filter in the standard air box) you normally gain a few bhp as the performance filter is less restrictive so the engine can get more air.

Differences are minimal though and you probably wouldn't notice them :thumb:

Yes, I'm sure there are no noticeable differences between panel filters, I thought you meant you had a KTEC cone filter. The only difference will be the sound as I'm convinced the K&N lets a bit more growl through. You can remove the butterfly valve for a bit more noise.

Oh god, this can of worms...