Cup or not a Cup

oliea79

Paid Member
Hi Guys,

I'm a Newbie here, but on the cusp of switching my R26 Megane F1 230 for a 200 Cup.

I want a car with both cup packs, but am really struggling to identify the differences on cars. Its seems the owners aren't much help either!

I have found a 2010 Liquid Yellow car with recaros and red brake calipers, but visually am unable to see if it is a cup? The car in question has a silver nose rather than black. Is this an indication of it being non-cup?

Other thing I noticed is it has a satnav, this may just be an optional extra.... but probably not helping the weight.

Are there any visual cuesI should be looking at to identify whether it is a cup or not?

Unfortunately the car is a bit of a schlep away so want to make sure its right before I go view it.

Thanks
Olie

There is only 1 cup pack on MK3 RS (197/200), what you are talking about was available on MK2 RS (172/182).

So you could get a car that was classed as a cup (says on logbook) or you can get ones with cup packs added.

The cup pack consisted of anthracite wheels, red calipers front and back, slightly stiffer dampers and springs (200 was stiffer than the 197), then the 200 got a slighter quicker steering rack.

Actual cup cars had the above pack and then no keyless entry card (traditional key instead), a poverty spec dash, manual wing mirrors, non-digital climate control (but could spec AC), no cruise control.

https://www.renaultsportclub.co.uk/...cup-gordini-silverstone-raider-specifications

This link is good to tell what to look out for.

Also regarding a genuine Liquid Yellow Cup, there was only 1 (i'm talking actual Cup, not a normal one with a cup pack), it was on this forum but sold (new owner might be on here actually).

What @suj has said is bang on..