197 Electrical Gremlin

Hello fellas - newbie here. I've got a Honda Integra DC5, but my friend has a 197 and I took it for a blast this afternoon.

There was a noticeable fault when throwing it into a corner pretty hard. For example taking a roundabout quite hard and sudden, the stereo would turn off and the power steering would cut out for 1-2 seconds then come back on.

Only seems to happen when there's some lateral G involved where I'm changing direction. Steering doesn't cut out every time, but the stereo seems to cut out for a split second more regularly.

Any ideas chaps? Must be an electrical/wiring/earth fault surely... needle and haystack!

French electric woes eh? I'll stick with my Japanese, definitely new pants needed now though :tongueout:

Any ideas/suggestions welcome - cheers!

Last edited:
It's only a guess but the alternator perhaps? These cars have electric power steering, which may use a fair amount of power which a knackered alternator may not be able to power it. The battery will lose power rapidly without the alternator.

But just a guess.

It's only a guess but the alternator perhaps? These cars have electric power steering, which may use a fair amount of power which a knackered alternator may not be able to power it. The battery will lose power rapidly without the alternator.

But just a guess.

The first thing I would check is the battery connections. That would be the simple explanation

Thanks for the suggestions so far fellas. We did think battery as well, but the connections are on securely. It also does it with a strong gearchange too (knocks the stereo out for a moment) but doesn't always cut the PAS..

Thanks mate. We did have a look at the fuses last night but didn't find anything untoward.

The car is booked in for some labour at K-Tec for some diag as it's only 20 mins away.. they said they have never heard of this before. Great!