Whats involved in changing the clutch?

I'm going to do the cambelt soon and after lending my car to my parents for a while I notice the clutch seems worn. It enages at the very top of the travel and when I got the car back it had a faint smell of burnt clutch after having been backed up the drive.

Should I do this job while I do the cambelt or is it a separate enough procedure to justify waiting until it actually lets go?

Is there a way to measure clutch wear?

I'm no expert but surly it's transmission out and nothing to do with the cam belt?

Symptoms might be excessive chatter with it depressed or try doing say 25-30 and depressing the clutch and getting the revs to about 4 or 5k and bring the clutch up in 6th. The revs should drop right down. If they stay well up I'd say it's slipping.

Yes, but if a lot of the same parts have to be removed for both jobs it might pay to do them at the same time...

I just had a look in the workshop manual. It seems fairly complicated, driveshafts must be removed, front bumper must come off, front subframe must go, battery and intake box must come out...left engine support must be removed... There could be some time saved by doing this at the same time as the belts, but then I don't want an overwhelming amount of work all at once.
I would love to hear from someone who has done this.

Last edited:
Yes I get your point but I was more referring to have you got the ability to get the transmission out?

As in, it isn't light and it's usually done on a lift with transmission jack and two people? Having those will greatly reduce the time it will take, therefore you will have lessen workload

I have a workshop with plenty of space so I can take my time. I don't have a lift, but I might buy one soon. Still. I should be able to lift the car high enough and support it on jack stands to do this?

I have an elephant lifter. With the intake and battery tray gone, could I not use this to lift the box from above and lower it onto a dolly?