New factory made front discs or brembo (standard)

Dear All,
Newbie here so don't bite my head off if I ask some dumb questions. :smile:

I am wondering, which one is the better quality and provides better performance for replacing the front brake discs (and pads):

a) Original Renault disc (a friend of mine has a pair and he is willing to sell it for 50)

b) brembo with the vent holes (standard) discs (about the same price as the above)

In terms of the rear, oddly I have drums there. I think it makes no sense converting it to discs so I should go with getting a new drum and shoes. Can you guys recommend a good quality aftermarket brand that performs well?

My car: 2007 Clio MK3 197 1.5dci (BR1G0H)

Thank you for your help

Drums on a 197, that does not sound right at all

I was also surprised when I saw it. This is a 2006 model year but it was sold in 2007. I double checked it with Renault and in fact the series I have comes with drums. I am not sure how big of a job would be to convert it or whether its worth converting it.

Erm... Not sure if serious!?!

You have EITHER a 197 OR a 1.5DCi (didn't know there was one).

Does your car run on petrol or diesel? Can you post a photo? Please...

Oups, I made a little error in my post, sorry about that. My car details are:

Model year: 2006
MK3
Clio
Sold Mar 2007
Engine: 1.5 diesel (1.5dci)
Factory Type No: BR1G0H

Ahhh all is clearer now!!! :smiley:

I would have thought the standard Renault discs would be fine. It makes sense to upgrade though if you're planning on any trackdays or anything like that. Not massively clued up on the DCi to be honest so I can't offer much advice but Im sure others on here will be able to help you more. :smile:

Ahhh all is clearer now!!! :smiley: