key fob problem

hi not sure if this is the best place to put this but here goes. wonder if anyone can shed any light.

I seem to be having trouble getting in to my 197 the key fob does nothing. it wont open the doors. i tried my spare thinking it might be the battery that needs replacing but just the same. I opened up using the key within the fob to get in but the dash said CARD NOT DETECTED.
i inserted the card in to the key slot and the car would then start no problem but would not lock afterwards. so my car is currently unlocked at the moment.
thanks Rich.

Not sure if it will help, but apparently the card has a rechargable battery in it which uses the same type charger as an electric toothbrush. When you insert the card in to the slot it charges. So if the card has hardly ever been in the slot it won't have any charge. I haven't taken a card apart at any point and I'm not a mechanic, but maybe just give it a quick try? You can lock the car with the emergancy key located at the bottom of the card, it slides out. The battery is located there too. Only the passenger door has a key hole.

Recently I have found that mobile phones interfier with the card too. So make sure it isn't in the same pocket.

Good luck, and hopefully someone else will know some more info!

It will be the battery mate - it happened to mine last week. the replacements are CR2025 and you can get then from Halfords or any car spares shop. 10 second job to swap!

I have never used the slot and am still using the same card since I got it 2.5 years ago! If the batteries have been dead for too long, then you may need the key re-programming to the car. As far as I am aware, this can only be done by the dealer.

If both cards don't work then I'm afraid its not the battery, but the RF circuit on the UCH module thats knackered. :worried:
Thats the subsystem responsible for the cabin electronics (a/c, locks, etc.)