What do you do when you spin (on track)

I've been driving the Ring for a few years now and i'm taking my new 197 there in May.

Now since i don't really have alot experience with the 197 i'll be taking it easy!

I always wondered though, with old (non-abs) cars i always stab on the brakes when i lose control (not that it happened much but it saved me once) causing all four wheels to block so the car keeps heading in the forward direction. Now, what happens when you have an abs equipped car?

Will it try to recover resulting in the car rolling in the wrong direction or does it just block?

Any experiences anyone?

Cheers!

Not had any experience of the ABS in the Clio but stamping the brakes in my previous motor the ABS just let the wheels slip ever so slightly while under braking to keep traction.

I've never been going fast enough to have to try, but supposedly ABS allows you to still steer the car while braking, so don't just stamp the brakes and hope for the best, stamp the breaks and keep pointing the wheel where you want to go.

https://www.aaafoundation.org/faqs-anti-lock-braking-system-abs#steer

"How should I steer during an emergency stop in an ABS-equipped vehicle?

Without ABS, once your front wheels lock, your vehicle will skid straight ahead, regardless of how you steer. Drivers who are accustomed to driving vehicles without ABS may sometimes turn the steering wheel sharply when performing an emergency stop. This is dangerous in a vehicle with four-wheel ABS. If you need to steer the car while braking to avoid an obstacle in front of you, carefully steer according to where you want your vehicle to go, and avoid sudden large steering inputs (i.e., don't suddenly jerk the steering wheel half of a turn while stomping on the brakes). If you do that, you may end up driving off of the road or into oncoming traffic."

Last edited: