The economy on the up?

richandgem

Platinum Member
I'm a toolmaker by trade (mould tools not spanners etc) and over the last 2 weeks things have gone mental. We went from having enough work to keep us ticking over and on a normal wage to having so much we are sending work out. I'm currently working around 50-60 hours a week, we just cant get the stuff done fast enough.

Is this a sign that things are back on the up or just a blip I wonder? Any other members in manufacturing? If so has there been any change for you recently?

Its same for us Rich. A few weeks ago week had to have unpaid time off as we had so little work (aerospace machining). After laying off nearly 100 people over the past 18 months, this month has gone mad. Loads of work to do, unlimited overtime and talk of looking to recruit more people again. From no work to loads of work in around 3 weeks is crazy. I expect demand to drop a little over xmas though.

Oh, and we get a 2.5% pay rise on Oct 1st, not had one for over 2 years :smile:

We do manufacturing of control panels for the Heating, Vent & A/C industry and we are ticking over nicely at the moment.

Plenty of work to tender, but turning that into an order in the book is another story.

Here's hoping things are on the up...

think its a little early to say yet
but hopefully we have turned the corner

i dont know. contractors i work for are really struggeling atm (building trade sucks)

Our company has just toupee (i think that is how it's spelt) quite a few people who I used to work with over to N-Power because we didn't retender for the contract. The company has been getting less and less work and it doesn't seem to be changing much. I know someone who is also a tool maker and he recently said that it had really picked up.

I should be alright because I work over the service and maintenance side of the company, servicing gas appliances for a housing association, so there should always be work for me.