Ok.... so I'm going to replace the lines..

So I've had a look and I'm off work from the 28th October until 4th. I plan to replace the brake lines on the Clio. I have goodridge brake lines however I've never done this before, are these a good fit??

I've watched vids on youtube.. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IXmGEM5fSgQ)

Looks easy.. I've done plumbing before.. this looks remarkably similar... Can anyone comment?

Bleeding the system looks remarkable simple too.. I think I'm going to buy an Ezebleed system. I've also 1.5 litres of brake fluid so I can replace all the brake fluid.. does anyone know the size of spanners I need? I assume with the ezebleed its very simple to do with one person?

thanks!

(p.s if for some reason I cock up there a mechanic down the road who will sort it for a few £ :smile:)

I can also recommend the ezbleed .. although I read somewhere that if replacing lines you need to plug in and cycle the abs pump to avoid airlocks

The goodridge lines are a good fit, and yeah the job of switching them is pretty straight forward, it's just the oil bit I hate, I have this thing about hydraulic oil lol

Just make sure you bleed it really well

dont let the master cylinder drain or loose to much fluid out of the lines - if you get air in the abs actuator its usually a dealer job to get the actuator put in "bleed mode"...

i usually use some plastic over the top of the reservoir held by a rubber band to stop the fluid from dripping out of the disconnected brake line

Also don't expect any noticeable difference in braking feel.

Really??
Changed the feel of the brakes in both our 197 and 182 when I did them, very noticeable. I did the 182 first and found the 197 so spongy afterwards in comparison I fitted some to it too

I will do a guide yes.

Thanks for all the comments guys it gives me a lot more to go on. I will ensure not to get air in the master cylinder thanks fox! Have you any more recommendations for me?