i-mac - worth the money ?

Adrian

Platinum Legend
Platinum Member
Been contemplating buying a Mac for a while now as I am aiming to get into my digital photography a lot more this year. My pc is so sloooooww it is unreal, and more often than not decides to switch itself off mid way through editing pics so I have to start again.

This is the model I have been looking at:

http://www.bestbuy.co.uk/product/10...c-mc510ba---intel-core-i3-1tb-4gb-memory.aspx

I have never used a Mac before, but people tell me it is loads better than windows based machines. Are they worth the vast amount of money, or am I going to be disappointed?

If I get it I need to get it before VAT goes up on Tuesday and makes it even more costly. Wouldnt even entertain spending that kind of cash on a windows pc.

opinions welcome :smile:

I love my Mac. I'd highly recommend them. We have just a macbook pro and it is awesome. Faster, sleeker and just generally better than the windows operating system.

Takes a bit of getting used to after working with windows for so long, but once you get the hang of it you'll love it.

As above really.

Had my 21.5" iMac a year now, and it is superior to a PC in everyway. I run the full version of Photoshop CS4 with no slow down / poor running at all, ever.

The only thing that lets the side down is if you are a PC gamer, as 99% of games do not get converted to Mac format, which is irritating. Still, whats a PS3 for though?!?

Do it, you won't regret it.

images768s.jpg

I tend to prefer shaving but each to their own....

Seriously though I have always worked with PC's until I started using Emma's Macbook and I really don't like it, I don't seen any benefit of the Mac over PC and I have had no end of compatibility issues with some of the electronics that I have. It has meant that I haven't been able to upload photos or music and it seems to be less reliable than my laptop. Having said that the Macbook Air is a beautiful bit of kit!