Clio 182 or 197 first car?

Hey guys, newbie here so sorry for what might seem like some daft questions.

I'll come clean and admit I'm mainly a German sports car man and love modding them but always had a massive respect for the Clio Sports in their various guises from over the years.

Anyway, this might seem like a daft question (and I'm sure I know what you guys will say!)..BUT, the wife is soon to be taking her UK driving test soon so looking at first cars for her.

She's 32 years old, professional and has driven for about 7 years (accident free) over in Goa India. This will be her first time actually driving in the UK so I'm thinking either a 5K'ish 182 Trophy OR an 8K'ish 197.

Checked with my insurance company and TBH, theres not that much difference in premium on either car so thats not a bother.

Taking other things into account (EG:reliability, fun factor, size difference etc..) what do you think she should go for, 182 or 197? Or even push the boat even further and pay a bit more for used 200?

Any thoughts guys, much appreciated? :thumbup:

hmm its a tricky one...

They're all great cars, but come with different pros and cons. The 197/200 will be the more refined car, its also bigger, newer and better looking :wink:.

if you can stretch far enough you might even get some warranty on a 197/200.

The trophy on the other hand, is supposed to be a brilliant car. Its older, and may have slightly higher running costs because of that, BUT the trophy will hold its value much better than a 197/200. If I'd have bought a mint Trophy instead of my 197 at the time, I'd have lost half or less the depreciation...

Thanks for the feedback & welcome chaps, I know, its a bit of an awkward one so really don't know which route to go down. :001_rolleyes:

Great forum BTW..:jase:

Welcome mate,enjoy
Trophy or 197 do t bother with 200s pig ugly:rofl:worried:joking)