Zen and the Art of Clio Maintenance

19Zen

Platinum Member
Hello fellow Clio enthusiasts :smile:

I’ve been driving my 197 for over 7 years now, have browsed the forum sporadically but never signed up to make a dedicated thread, as they say - better late than never!

A brief history of my car – only one previous owner who partxed after a few thousand miles, so have been driving from nearly new. It fortunately hasn’t had any faults (touch wood) apart from the rear windscreen dropping. All parts replaced have been wear & tear - brakes all round, drive belt/tensioner, hub carrier ball joint, engine mounts, link arms, thermostat and cam sensor seals. I’m currently on a 3rd set of tyres, from Continentals to Goodyear F1s and now Michelin PS4.

I love this car and can’t see myself ever selling, so thought I’d join in and make a thread. I don’t have many plans as looking to keep the engine and chassis original, for country roads I think it’s close to perfect, unlike the UK’s road surfaces! The only modifications added so far is a decent stereo/speakers and a lowered Recaro driver’s seat. I’m aiming to just keep her up to spec and add a few personal touches along the way. I’ll try to keep this thread updated with any mods, maintenance and of course some beauty shots.

Here's one to start with taken earlier today...

197-1.jpg

Last edited:
I am in the same boat as you. Want to add little touches but keep it pretty much standard IAS I find it really good for the roads I drive

Sent from my EVA-L09 using Tapatalk

I am in the same boat as you. Want to add little touches but keep it pretty much standard IAS I find it really good for the roads I drive

Sent from my EVA-L09 using Tapatalk
I imagine on track that some more straight line speed would be welcome, on roads though there's plenty of power and grip to have fun with. The lack of straight line speed also discourages getting involved in any silly road racing!

Last edited:
Reactions: wootwoot