Wrapping of badges

Hi,

I was thinking of getting a black gloss cover for my Renault badge. I have a Clio Mk4. However, because the badges are the new ones so they're bigger than the old ones, nowhere are doing covers for them yet.

So, maybe i could wrap it in a gloss black vinyl. However, i have never done this before so can anyone give me any tips on how to do this?

Thanks,
Leigh

badge.jpg

You need a hair dryer (or a heat gun) and a debit/credit/points card in a sock (or a felt edged squeegee).

Heat the wrap before applying it. Without heat the wrap just isn't pliable enough. Lay it on a bit at a time and keep pushing all the air bubbles out to the side. It will take you a few (many, many) goes before you get it right. You can keep peeling it off if you're not happy with it and start again.

Plastidip spay them. Most are Matt sprays but you can get a glossifier. You don't have to remove the badges, just mask up and spray. It can be peeled off if you don't like the results and if you overspray anywhere just rub it off. YouTube it if you want to see how it's done.

You need a hair dryer (or a heat gun) and a debit/credit/points card in a sock (or a felt edged squeegee).

Heat the wrap before applying it. Without heat the wrap just isn't pliable enough. Lay it on a bit at a time and keep pushing all the air bubbles out to the side. It will take you a few (many, many) goes before you get it right. You can keep peeling it off if you're not happy with it and start again.

Thank u :smile: ill look into it!

Plastidip spay them. Most are Matt sprays but you can get a glossifier. You don't have to remove the badges, just mask up and spray. It can be peeled off if you don't like the results and if you overspray anywhere just rub it off. YouTube it if you want to see how it's done.

Is it a lot of fuss though? Also, how much is it usually do u know?

Is it a lot of fuss though? Also, how much is it usually do u know?