Rusty front sub frame!!!

Just got under the Clio for the first time since buying it, only to discover the front subframe is falling to bits!

Attachments

• 20180319_163106.jpg
    20180319_163106.jpg
    3.2 MB · Views: 199
im no metal expert but that looks like paint and none of the metal looks to be breaking or has holes. some sandpaper and fresh paint should put that right.

Mine is beyond repair so looking for a used one that I can refurb! Called Renault and a replacement is around £250

Luckily I spoke to the place I got it from today, sent some pictures. They've agreed to sort it out as I've knkynhad it 4 weeks!

Jesus, it’s a good job you took a look under there when you did! Good work on getting them to sort it, hopefully it’ll be rust free again soon!

Radiator support is easy to change diy. Mine was also rusty, but little bit of welding and sandblasting..
If you buy new or second hand, paint or protect it. I think protection from factory was poor.

Last edited:
Radiator support is easy to change diy. Mine was also rusty, but little bit of welding and sandblasting..
If you buy new or second hand, paint or protect it. I think protection from factory was poor.
How long did it take you to remove? what was required?
Mine is looking crappy too and could do with a refurb

How long did it take you to remove? what was required?
Mine is looking crappy too and could do with a refurb

Hello

I try to remember how it was.

1. Lift car up , put jack stands, so car is in nice balance and you have enough room to work under car.
2. Remove undertray
3. Remove inner wings
4. Remove front bumper (see how-to section).
5. Support radiator that it would not drop down when you remove radiator support.
6. Remove bolts from front of the support and side.

If i remember correctly now you can remove this radiator support.

Here is picture how i supported my radiator before i drop the radiator support bar

big.jpg

And here is picture, see bolts

big.jpg

big.jpg