Newbie Clio 197 Cup

Good Morning,

Let me introduce myself, I am Mark from Cheshire and have a couple of Golf R32's (mk4&5) the Mk4 is kept in heated garage and only comes out a few times a year (I am an admin on the R32OC). For the last 2 x years have owned a Twingo GT as my daily, well this week I decided to upgrade my daily to a White Clio 197 Cup with 66,000 miles and seems tidy, I chose the clio as pre VW I owned a Renault 5 GT Turbo, Clio Williams and a Clio Trophy.

So far I am not that impressed with it, nothing major I just don't get excited getting into it maybe because it has a few issues that I make the driving experience less fun and involved:

I will list them below: (and maybe you experienced 197 owners can give me some tips and cost ideas??)

1, When driving spiritedly there is a crunch into 3rd gear
2, Drivers side knocking sounds like a top mount? - annoying as fcuk
3, Alarm makes a horrible screech after car is locked (I Think I have worked out its the bonnet close sensor) - Can this be wired out if I take off and solder wires together

Anyway Hello and I look forwards to your help and advise,

I have added a couple of photos

Reactions: Sean197
Welcome along!

Awesome list of cars you own and have had!

Changing gearbox oil can help with the crunching!!
First issue I’ve heard of the alarm...

Hi,

Sorry you have a few issues with your new car, it's just something you have to accept with these cars.

The gear box could do with an oil change which may help the crunch depending on how severe it is. Ultimately you need new syncho rings/a new box to totally get rid of it.

I too had issues with my alarm going off whenever I locked it. As a temporary fix you can lock the car without setting the alarm by doing this:

Open drivers side door
Put keycard in slot
Press stop/start button 5 times fairly fast (Listen for a click each time)
Take the card out and close the door
Press the lock button on the card twice, fast.