Kit Cars.......

sevenfourate

Devotee of OCD
Paid Member
Anyone here ever owned one, got one or thought about owning one ? Care to share your thoughts, what it was like to live with, what you used it for etc

I've been mulling the idea over for quite a few months; if only in reference initially to what they are like full stop ! Appears to me it could be a fun car for short journey's, could be a weekend hoon-mobile if you fancy getting rid of some adrenalin, an able track weapon to boot; not to mention being a fun car to tinker around with in the garage. I have done a little bit of reading up ref bike engine versions versus traditional car engined ones, the wide-body chassis versions, buying built or perhaps taking on a half-done project, actual shed built kit cars versus a factory Westfield etc.

My current pondering hasn't been helped by the fact a good friend; who i thought was only semi-seriously thinking about it - actually took the plunge and bought one last weekend.

I have now managed to blag the car below on Sat as my first introduction. I've never so much as even sat in one before.....

24097527298_9921ea426c_b.jpg

Any advice, info or experience appreciated.

I've always fancied a Gardner Douglas Cobra, just beautiful cars and bloody rapid with it. I also remember a Dax Rush 4x4 Cosworth from the 90s which was mentally fast.

Reactions: sevenfourate
Dad used to own one from what I remember as a kid. Bright orange and some mouldy old black canvas cover for when it rained! Was abit beat up however it was a thrill to be a passenger... I'd recommend it Shuv even just to tick a box buck list style !

I had a Caterham Supersport. Was a great spec - 1.6 140Bhp. Dry sump. LSD. Motorsport chassis with handbrake under dash etc...

Pros:

Fun / light to tow / good on tyres and brakes / easy to work on

Cons:

Open / exposed / accident chances not good / wind / noise / people looking in on you / head almost sticking out the top