Gearbox help and opinions please

Little dave

Paid Member
hi all I'm new to the clio world and have just purchased a ff200 with I think every option except leather with 3rd and 4th gear crunch.needless to say the car was dirt cheap so happy to take a gearbox repair on the chin.
So I'm looking to repair the gearbox my question is

Can the synchro issue be sorted ? Upgrade or so on
Second I plan to track the car from time to time is a uprated diff worth the extra effort
Thirdly light weight flywheels make much difference for the better.

And looking to make a bit more noise so what's the best route airbox upgrade ? Exhaust cat back only or full exhaust

Lastly suggestions in things to prep for track use

Thanks in advance

Hello mate,

Well the synchro rings are a common fault on these boxes unfortunately! Renault have already improved the synchro rings, but there's nothing else available I'm afraid.

If you were tracking the car all the time I'd say a diff is worth it, but for time to time I'm not so sure personally. Lightweight flywheels aren't really used on the 197/200's either it seems, but you'll definitely get some improvements in engine response.

Airbox wise the ktec induction kit seems to give the most noise/performance improvements. You could fit a carbon R3 maxi replica airbox, but you'd need to relocate the battery. Personally, it's not worth the hassle if you haven't got cams.

Loads of exhaust options out there to suit your budget really. I've got the akrapovic evolution full system, and it sounds like a cup racer at full throttle, but civilised enough for my 8 month olds little ears when driving normally. Scorpion seems to be a popular choice amongst the guys n gals on here.

If you're wanting a box let me know as I've started offering the TL4 as a service exchange item. Drop me a pm if it sounds like something that you'd be interested in.