Differences between 197, R27 and 200?

I am new to this, and am sure this has been covered before, but 5min of searching hasn't shown up the answer, so please forgive me.

What are the actual differences between the 197, 197 R27, and 200?

I know the 200 is based on the facelifted Clio, but it looks like it has retained the early Mk3's rear end, tail lamps, fuel flap, etc. rather than taking the facelift car's parts?

Are there any mechanical differences aside from a map?

Is an R27 essentially just a F/F 197 with Cup chassis and decals, or is there more to it?

Mine is just an early F/F 197, what am I missing out on?

Please educate me, I need answers!

Thanks!!

As far as I know you are spot on. The R27 also has a plaque with the production number on it 1 to 500. The R27 only had the Cup pack and this, everything else were options as on the FF.

I think the 200 has some mechanical differences, but not sure what exactly.

Apparently early 197s have different gear ratios to later ones, I think it is after 2008, which makes 6th gear slightly lower revs at 70 mph and the ECU was updated to address the kangerooing slightly. It still does it though! Other than that I don't think they changed anything untill the 200.

theres three versions to the 197, FF 197, 197 cup and the special edition 197 r27 F1 which was to comerated renault winning the 2006 F1, the f1 has cup suspension but retains the luxerys like keycard, climate control recaros as standard

the 200 is the facelift of the 197, consisting of new front end (bumpers/headlights) and new diffusser which is painted and got crome looking rings where the exhaust tailpipes are, as well as that different map and newer gearbox ratio compared to the newer box in the 197, shorter 1st 2nd and 3rd and longer 4th 5th and 6th. also the cup suspension is alot stiffer on the 200 then the 197 cup

Last edited: