Rusty front sub frame!!!

Discussion in 'Clio 197 Area' started by Roninbb, Mar 19, 2018.

1. Roninbb

Roninbb Paid Member

Clio 197 ff
    Just got under the Clio for the first time since buying it, only to discover the front subframe is falling to bits!

Attached Files:

2. Roninbb

Roninbb Paid Member

Clio 197 ff
    Another bit

Attached Files:

3. Roninbb

Roninbb Paid Member

Clio 197 ff
    Aaannnd another

Attached Files:

4. Dmonk197

Dmonk197 Paid Member

Borehamwood
    197 R27
    im no metal expert but that looks like paint and none of the metal looks to be breaking or has holes. some sandpaper and fresh paint should put that right.

5. Roninbb

Roninbb Paid Member

Clio 197 ff
    Nope, has huge chunks missing out of it lol

6. Antti O

Antti O Paid Member

Mikkeli, Finland
    Clio 197 Ultra red 2007
    It is radiator support, not sub frame. You can remove it and get it sandblasted.
    Then some paint.

big.jpg

big.jpg

big.jpg

ZaShark likes this.
  7. vnahalv

vnahalv Paid Member

Clio RS 197
    Mine is beyond repair so looking for a used one that I can refurb! Called Renault and a replacement is around £250

8. Roninbb

Roninbb Paid Member

Clio 197 ff
    Luckily I spoke to the place I got it from today, sent some pictures. They've agreed to sort it out as I've knkynhad it 4 weeks!

Foxspeed likes this.
  9. RossWoods93

RossWoods93 Platinum Member

Bury St Edmunds
    LY Clio RS 200
    Jesus, it’s a good job you took a look under there when you did! Good work on getting them to sort it, hopefully it’ll be rust free again soon!

10. Antti O

Antti O Paid Member

Mikkeli, Finland
    Clio 197 Ultra red 2007
    Radiator support is easy to change diy. Mine was also rusty, but little bit of welding and sandblasting..
    If you buy new or second hand, paint or protect it. I think protection from factory was poor.

Last edited: Mar 20, 2018
  11. Jack Maxwell

Jack Maxwell Gold Member

Clio 200 Silverstone