Intermittent Starts

Hey guys,

Loving the forum and my 197 :smile:) although it has started to have a very strange problem - intermittently it won't start, the car turns over but fails to start. I can leave it for a day, go back and it will start on the button :worried: very confusing - any idea's peeps? The car was second hand to me and has done roughly 35k, I have already replaced the starter motor and that didn't fix it.

Thanks in advance :thumbup:

Hello & welcome!!! :smile:

Unfortunately I can't give you any advice about the starting issue, but no doubt there'll be people on here who can. :smile:

I am not an expert at all but it could possibly be sensor, possibly the crank sensor?

Otherwise I would look towards fuelling. There will definitely be someone on here could point you in a better direction!

welcome fella :thumbup:

non start......could be lots of things

crank sensor
fuel pump

to name a couple

you need to see when it doesnt start whether its electrical ie no spark or no fuel

when it next does it try to listen for the fuel pump running for a few seconds - if you can hear that - then take a plug coil out and put a plug in the end earth on the engine and then crank it over to see if theres a spark....

try removing the crank sensor above the gearbox bell housing and check/clean the tip with a little wire whool and check the plug/ loom for crap/rust.

I had something similar and it was a fuel pump but it would struggle to start like it was just about to fire in to life and would just stall. After a day it'd start then a few days later the same thing would happen!

Was just about to say that, if its fuel pump it would normally start and then splutter to a stop after a few seconds.

I would be tempted to look at crank/cam sensors and then possibly at immobiliser fault