ICE reccomendations

I want to change my headunit and speakers, i'm new to this stuff, so i'm not sure where to start. i was looking at an alpine headunit and speakers, what do you lot recommend and/or is alpine a goood choice?
Thanks, matt

my budget is fairly open, within reason tbh.
Chappo, whats your set up like?
I want mine for bassy music if this helps

You must have some sort of budget in mind? I could recommend a £200 setup or a £2000 setup, which sort of end of the scale are you thinking?

I would always say get a decent alpine or pioneer headunit, speakers depend on the budget

Definately agree on the alpine/pioneer choice for headunit. I would put your money into a good set of front comps and ditch the rears. Then obviously a sub in the boot if you like it bassy. Dont spread your budget over fronts and rears.

my budget is around £200, i want a decent alpine headunit, dont know which one to go for. & im not sure of what to do speaker wise ..

Maybe its best to put that to a new headunit and run standard speakers to start with. This will be an improvement over standard (this is how I have mine setup until I have time to fit the rest!) Then save a bit more for speakers and amps/sub in the future.

Speaker wise it really depends on what type of music you listen too. Maybe get to some shops and listen to a few sets? You want 13cm components for the front.

I'd agree with that really, just get a headunit for now. I have this setup and the sound is massively improved over standard.

I'd go for something like this: http://www.caraudiodirect.co.uk/alpine-cda-105ri.html
BUT, if you can stretch that bit further i'd go for the next model up which has a better equaliser (This will really help you get the max out of the standard speakers, as long as you are prepared to spend a bit of time setting it up) http://www.caraudiodirect.co.uk/alpine-cda-117ri.html