Clio 197 mods

Hey everyone,

New Clio 197 owner as of friday and new to the forum. '

I as just interested to know any experiences people have had with modifying a clio 197. What are some good starting modifications to gain some BHP or to lose some weight. Ive looked at Cat cams but are there any other cam options cause ive been reading and it seems like they havent got a great rep. ECU suggestions? Exhaust Suggestions? Any modification suggestions. Im also trying to find a rear spoiler?

What have people experienced with 18 inch turini's, how has the smaller size affected the drive and handling?

I plan to over the next year do a fair bit of work on this car as i want to start tracking her in about 6 months. So some extra BHP will help me out on the long straight at eastern I am completely new to clio ownership and so of course to modifying one as well. So please excuse my ignorance, i am just keen to learn.

Any help, or answering any of my questions would be greatly appreciated (Even advice or warnings about certain mods)

Thanks, Clio197AUS

Many people forget these cars are great out the box, there really is no need to touch anything to make it a competent track car.

If I had my time again with the Clio I'd start like this:
Cup racer wheels with R888s
CL RC5+ pads all round
KW V1/V3 dependent on budget
Exhaust of your choice + remap

Everything else isn't exactly value for money but out of the stuff I've done I'd do the quaife diff again. A nice set of recaros help if you haver got them.

Im looking at KW V3 coilover with the custom tops (2.5 degrees camber/ 7degrees caster) and a set of lightweight 17" OZ Ultraleggaras with semi-slicks, but im not necessarily going to do many engine modifications, but im still interested in a little bit of extra BHP and weight reduction, surely some 197 owners are doing it :smile: