Better late than never...thought i should introduce myself.

Nick197RS

POTM Winner - January 2017
Platinum Member
Hello chaps,
Im a newbie to the forum but been using it for a few weeks to gather info and make some purchases.
My name is Nick, from Lancashire. A month ago i decided to buy a Clio 197 Lux in black. It required some work so i got it for a steal!
So far it has been in bits on the driveway :think:
I have however managed to complete a tom tom nav conversion into it from a 2012 clio. (Nightmare)

It had worn Lower Swivel Joints and upon removal of the hubs etc, it seemed everything was seized...
so new abs sensor, cv joint, anti twist link and track rod end later it should now be sorted (until i begin the next side)
I have bought cup springs and dampers off a friendly chap on here to improve the handling.
The plan is to replace everything that is a common wearing item, mint the bodywork and interior.
And use it for some track days and maybe race it next season in a hot hatch class.

So far ive found this forum extremely useful and full of fantastic information, and some very friendly people!
Great bunch (im used to the idiots you find in the vw scene)

I will get a pic posted up later of my clio and some progress of the suspension refresh etc
cheers :blush:

Last edited:
Nice introduction my friend and nice to 'meet you'.

With your efforts: it sounds like your car is going to be fab.

Look forward to some pics.....and sounds like you need to start your own progress thread.

Enjoy....

Welcome along! Blimey sounds like you've been very busy!

Definitely have to get some pics up as you say and get a progress thread started so we can follow your progress :smiley:

Welcome along. Car sounds like it's going to be great. Looking forward to seeing some pictures.

Its not too bad to do if your good at tracing wires and soldering etc.